Learning to create WordPress themes

When deciding to learn WordPress I thought the best way to go about it would be to read though the information on the WordPress website. Good idea! I got an understanding of what WordPress can do and a vague understanding of how to go about making it work.

The one issue I had was that the WordPress website was telling me how easy WordPress was to use. However the website has just to TOO much information. I found I needed a tutorial so I headed over to Lynda.com. Love that site! I did the training and got a good over all idea of WordPress. But I wanted to know more about making themes.

I was lucky enough to find a great tutorial on Wpdesigner.com. It’s a little old but really helped get my head around how everything works. Perfect for beginners. Step by step detailed instructions and explanations on what and why everything does what is does.

  • It explains:
  • file setup
  • document set up
  • XHTML
  • php
  • css (styling)
  • themes

“So you want to create WordPress themes huh?”
http://www.wpdesigner.com/2007/02/19/so-you-want-to-create-wordpress-themes-huh/

Leave a Reply

